Page images

Portuguese.-Signor Monteiro.

Russian.- Rev. E. Popoff, Chaplain to the Russian Embassy.

Sanscrit.- Max. Müller, Esq., M.A., Fellow of All Souls' College, Oxford, and Professor of Modern European Languages, Oxford.

Spanish.-E. Del Mar, Esq.; Signor De Mora; Rev. L. Lucena, Spanish Teacher at the Taylor Institution, Oxford.

Eastern Languages. - Col. Ouseley; C. B. Eastwick, Esq.; J. W. Redhouse, Esq.

Astronomy. Rev. J. Challis, M.A., F.R.S., Plumian Professor of Astronomy at Cambridge.

Civil Engineering.—Capt. Galton, R.E., Assistant Secretary to the Railway Department of Board of Trade. Geology.-G. D. Liveing, Esq., M.A., Fellow of St. John's College, Cambridge.

Land Surveying.-H. J. Castle, Esq.

Law.-H. S. Maine, Esq., LL.D, Reader in Jurisprudence and the Civil Law to the Hon. Society of the Middle Temple; T. C. Sandars, Esq., M.A., late Fellow of Oriel College, Oxford.

Law of Scotland.-R. Stuart, Esq., Barrister-at-Law. Physiology.-Dr. W. B. Carpenter, F.R.S., Professor of Medical Jurisprudence, University Coll. London. Physical Science. M. H. N. Story-Maskelyne, Esq., M.A., Deputy Reader in Mineralogy, Oxford.

For Examinations in Scotland.

A. C. Longmore, Esq., Office of the Queen's and Lord Treasurer's Remembrancer.

For Examinations in Ireland.

Johnstone Stoney, Esq., Secretary to the Queen's University.



Who exercise the chief Patronage of the Civil Service.

A § denotes a Member of the Cabinet.

First Lord of the Treasury-§ Viscount Palmerston. Lord Chancellor-§ Lord Campbell.

President of Council-§ Earl Granville.

Lord Privy Seal-§ Duke of Argyll.

Secretary of State, Foreign-§ Lord John Russell

Secretary of State, Home-§ Rt. Hon. Sir G. C. Lewis, Bart. M.P.

Secretary of State, Colonial-§ Duke of Newcastle.

Secretary of State for India-§ Rt. Hon. Sir C. Wood, Bart. M.P.

Secretary of State, War Department-§ Rt. Hon. S. Herbert, M.P.

Chancellor of Exchequer-§ Rt. Hon. W. E. Gladstone, M.P.

Chancellor of Duchy of Lancaster-§ Rt. Hon. Sir G. Grey, Bart. M.P.

First Lord of Admiralty-§ Duke of Somerset.

President of Board of Trade-§ Rt. Hon. T. Milner

Postmaster-General-§ Earl of Elgin.

Chief Commissioner of Works-§ Rt. Hon. W. Cowper, M.P.

Lord Steward of Household-Earl of St. Germans.

Lord Chamberlain of Household-Vicount Sydney.

Vice-Chamberlain of Household-Viscount Castlerosse, M.P.

Comptroller of Household-Lord Proby, M.P.

Treasurer of Household-Viscount Bury.

Master of Horse-Marquis of Ailesbury.

Master of Buckhounds-Earl of Bessborough.

President of Poor Law Board-§ Rt. Hon. C. P. Villiers, M.P.

President of Board of Health-Rt. Hon. R. Lowe, M.P.

Under Secretary of Colonial Office-C. Fortescue, Esq., M.P.

Under Secretary of Foreign Office-Lord Wodehouse.

Under Secretary of Home Department-G. Clive, Esq., M.P.

Under Secretary for War-Earl de Grey and Ripon. Vice-President of Committee of Council on Education -Rt. Hon. R. Lowe, M.P.

Vice-President of Board of Trade-Rt. Hon. W. Hutt, M.P.

Judge Advocate-General-Rt. Hon. T. E. Headlam, M.P.

Secretaries of Treasury-Hon. H. B. W. Brand, M.P.; S. Laing, Esq., M.P.

Secretary of Admiralty-Lord C. Paget, M.P.

Secretary of Indian Council-T. G. Baring, Esq., M.P. Junior Lords of Treasury-Sir W. Dunbar, Bart., M.P.; E. Í. Knatchbull Hugessen, Esq., M.P.; J. Bagwell, Esq., M.P.

Junior Lords of Admiralty.—Sir R. S. Dundas; Admiral F. T. Pelham; Capt. Eden; Capt. Frederick; S. Whitbread, Esq., M.P.

Attorney-General-Sir R. Bethell, M.P.

Solicitor-General-Sir W. Atherton, M.P.

Lord Lieutenant of Ireland-Earl of Carlisle, K.G. Chief Secretary for Ireland--Rt. Hon. E. Cardwell, M.P. Lord Chancellor for Ireland-Rt. Hon. M. Brady. Attorney-General for Ireland—Rt. Hon. R. Deasy, M.P. Solicitor-General for Ireland-Serjt. J. O'Hagan.

Lord Advocate of Scotland-Rt. Hon. J. Moncrieff, M.P. Solicitor-General of Scotland-E. F. Maitland, Esq.





« PreviousContinue »